Like a nameless Vagabond

STUDIOS.jpg

I drifted through this land before my tongue tasted the mellow sound of my native language,

I drifted through the city of my birth, never knowing once what the people sounded like,

I drifted through the well fed soil of Punjab, felt the dark earth between my feet and never once understood where it was that I belonged,

I drifted through the land of palm trees and beautifully golden Sindh, felt the sea breeze rattle my bones but never once did I understand where it was that I belonged,

I drifted to the northern edges of my motherland, caressed the snow that rested atop white glazed mountains, I ran down hilltops, screamed my name across valleys but never once did I understand where it was that I belonged,

I drifted to the rugged land of rough men and rigid rules, I looked up at the giant Balochi mountains that surrounded my existence on all four sides, I lay beneath the mud from a thunderous rain, watched the milky way dance above me but never once did I understand where it was that I belonged

I drifted through cities, villages, abandoned places, isolated landscapes and broken houses,

I drifted amidst people, brown, white, yellow and black but never once did any of them give me the answers that I craved,

I drifted and now I am a nameless vagabond that belongs everywhere and nowhere.
~ Mahrukh Imam

 

Leave a comment